One Decision, Amazing Results (Proverbs 2)

“My child, listen to what I say…” Proverbs 2:1

 As a parent of three little girls (7, 5, almost 3) listening is a pivotal activity. When I truly listen to my girls I hear amazing things flowing out of their hearts of innocence and minds of wonder. When they listen to me they learn new skills, are protected from danger and stretch their understanding of what is possible.

As a husband when I listen to my wife about the schedule for the day or the errands I need run before I come home from work, our home functions more smoothly. When I listen to her posture, her face, her eyes, I hear the meaning in her words and our hearts are connected.

As a child of God when I listen to what He says I will:

  • gain knowledge of Him
  • understand an appropriate awe of Him
  • receive wisdom
  • understand what is right, just and fair
  • find the right way to go
  • be filled with joy
  • learn discernment in relationships
  • guard my heart

The choice to listen is a choice to live a life full of meaningful relationships. How can you listen better today, in the next hour? How will that choice change the trajectory of your day?

About Kerby Court

Husband of the most wonderful and patient woman in the world, Anna, and father of the four most precious little girls a dad could be blessed to parent: Mackenzie, Whitney, Sidney, and Courtney. View all posts by Kerby Court

Leave a Reply

